Central Western Firemen's Association July Conference Meeting New Paris, Ohio July 21, 2018

Meeting was called to order by President Dusty Johns at 9:12am.

Northwest Fire and Rescue Chief Paul Cones welcomed everyone and thanked them for attending.

Pledge of Allegiance was led by Ken Saunders.

Ken then thanked everyone for attending despite the weather. Mike O'Donnell led everyone in prayer.

Response from CWFA by President Dusty Johns who also thanked everyone for attending. Stay safe and have fun.

Roll Call was taken by Secretary Lisa Hummel

Officers in attendance Kevin Harman, Dusty Johns, Lisa Hummel, John Sands, Kim Baker, Karl Whisman, Adam Marchal and Paul Taynor.

Past Presidents in attendance were Tom Hellard, Mike O'Donnell, Bill Westfall, Brian Pearson, AJ Monnin, John Sands, Dave Taynor, Kevin Harman, Skip Esken, Adam Marchal and Karl Whisman.

Departments in attendance were Bradford, Bradford Fire Bells, Christiansburg, Covington, Covington Spit-Fyres, Englewood, Fletcher, Jefferson Twp., Laura, Ludlow Falls, Northwest, Pleasant Hill, Rossburg, Tri-Village Rescue, Vandalia, Versailles Fire, Versailles EMS and West Milton.

Reading of Last Alarm was done by Mike O'Donnell.

Sandy Marchal introduced the 2018 Miss CWFA and Court

Queen: Kacie Tackett - Pleasant Hill-Newton Twp. FD

1<sup>st</sup>:Runner Up: Alexis Paige - Vandalia Fire Division

2<sup>nd</sup> Runner Up: Macel Stowers - Northwest Fire & EMS

3<sup>rd</sup> Runner Up: Mackenzie Messick - Eldorado FD

Miss Congeniality: Mackenzie Messick - Eldorado FD

February meeting minutes were read by Secretary Lisa Hummel. Motion to accept the minutes as read was made by Ken Saunders. 2<sup>nd</sup> by Skip Esken. Motion passed.

Treasurer's Report read by Treasurer John Sands. Motion to accept the report as read was made by Bill Westfall with 2<sup>nd</sup> by Karl Whisman. Motion passed.

## **Old Business**

A brief discussion was held regarding updated list of committees and was tabled until the most recent list of committees can be located.

Terry Applegate was named Committee Chairman for Competitions and Equipment Committees due to the resignation of Dave Taynor. AJ Monnin will assist.

Kim Baker was named as Committee Chairman for Fundraising Committee due to Angie Locker moving out of area.

Discussion was held about how we should modify the Charity Fund form regarding the new law regarding cancer as a LODD for 2019. It was suggested by numerous members that we add a check box to the form. Brian Pearson will edit the form and submit for review at the Post Conference meeting. Ken Saunders also asked that we send a letter to the

departments explaining the policy changes. A letter will be also be included with renewal packets, pre=conference and conference packets, placed on the Facebook page and on the website.

Presentation of the 2018 Bowling Tournament Awards was made by AJ Monnin of Bradford FD.

1<sup>st</sup> Place: West Milton FD with 3258 2<sup>nd</sup> Place: Rossburg FD with 2662 3<sup>rd</sup> Place: Laura FD with 2391 High Series: Kenny Nevels with 742

High Series: Kenny Nevels with 742 High Game: Brendan Deere with 287

## **Committee Reports**

Finance Committee – John Sands: In addition to the treasurer's report, John informed members that there was a white meal ticket valued at \$8 included in past president and officers' packets. He also reminded those in attendance that registration would be immediately following the business meeting.

Competitions Committee – Chris Hensley: Chris stated everything was ready to go for today's competitions.

Fundraising Committee – John Sands: Nothing to report. Dave Taynor informed members he had been checking into vinyl stickers to sell as a fundraiser. He stated they are 4" diameter, weatherproof, sturdy vinyl stickers. Suggested price would be 1 for \$5 or 3 for \$10. Additional information and cost is attached. A motion to proceed with this fundraiser was made by Ken Saunders with a 2<sup>nd</sup> by Crystal Buteau. Motion passed. Dave will handle ordering these. It was suggested we take pre-orders.

Constitution and By-Laws – Tom Hellard: Nothing to report.

Queen's Committee – Sandy Marchal: Thanks to Northwest FD. They were easy to work with. Reid Hospital also did a wonderful job on the food.

Equipment Committee – Chris Hensley: As far as he knows, all is good.

Host Department Committee – Rick Lewis: Rick stated he appreciated all CWFA members and the officers who helped and thanked them as well.

## **New Business**

Election of officers for 2018-2019 are as follows:

2018-2019 President: Terry Applegate – Bradford FD 2018-2019 Vice President: Chris Hensley – Bradford FD 2018-2019 Secretary: Lisa Hummel – Tri-Village Rescue 2018-2019 Treasurer: John Sands – Vandalia Fire Division 2018-2020 Trustee: Karl Whisman – Vandalia Fire Division

2018-2020 Trustee: Kim Baker – Tri-Village Rescue 2017-2019 Trustee: Paul Taynor – Vandalia Fire Division 2017-2019 Trustee: Adam Marchal – Pleasant Hill FD

Motion to accept the slate of officers was made by Ken Saunders with 2<sup>nd</sup> by Skip Esken. Motion passed. Officers were sworn in by Mike O'Donnell.

The Oldest Active Firefighter in Attendance was Tom Hellard of Vandalia Fire Division, age 79.

The Department Traveling the Farthest as Christiansburg FD, travelling 58 miles.

Brian Pearson asked the officers to take their positions seriously to improve upon each year, work hard and tie up any loose ends. We need to keep moving forward.

Skip Esken reminded those in attendance to make sure to keep any personal feelings towards others out of it. We need to keep things out in the open to keep things running smoothly.

## **Announcements**

Post Conference Meeting will be held Wednesday, August 29, 2018 at 7pm, Northwest FD.

February Business Meeting will be held Wednesday, February 20, 2019 at 7pm, Christiansburg FD.

Dave Taynor reminded everyone there will be a Captain's meeting immediately following business meeting.

Motion to adjourn was made by Kevin Harman with a 2<sup>nd</sup> by Paul Taynor. Motion passed.

Adjourned at 10:15am.

Lisa Hummel

Respectfully,

**CWFA Secretary**